You can link your Ooma system with your iOS devices to expand your home telephone setup in innovative new ways. From receiving notifications of incoming calls on your Apple Watch to getting iOS reminders when a new voicemail comes in, you can open up a world of possibilities to automate your home telephone so that it meets the needs of your busy life.

  1. How does Ooma connect with my iOS devices?
  2. How do I get started with connecting Ooma to my iOS devices?
  3. Can Ooma connect with my Apple watch?
  4. What can I do once I connect Ooma with my iOS devices?
  5. How do I create my own Recipe to connect my Ooma Telo with iOS?
  6. How do I unlink my iOS device from IFTTT?

How does Ooma connect with my iOS devices?

“If This Then That,” or IFTTT, is a service that allows its users to link Internet-compatible services such as Ooma and iOS together so that they can interact with each other. Using IFTTT, you can set up simple automation tasks called “Recipes” so that an action from one service automatically triggers an event on another. You can learn more about setting up an IFTTT account to work with Ooma by visiting our FAQ.

How do I get started with connecting Ooma to my iOS devices?

If you’re ready to get started connecting Ooma to your iOS devices, then follow these instructions:

  1. Log into your My Ooma account and navigate to your Apps page.
  2. Add a Recipe:
    • Click the “Get Connected” button for iOS.
    • The iOS page lists our recommended Recipes for iOS. Find a Recipe that you would like to use and click the “Add” button beside it:
      iOS recipes IFTTT
    • An IFTTT window will pop up to confirm the Recipe you have selected. Click “Add:”
      iOS recipe confirm add IFTTT
    • Create a new IFTTT account or sign into your existing one:
      create account IFTTT
  3. Connect your Ooma account.
    • If you haven’t connected your Ooma account already, click on the “Connect” button:
      iOS connect IFTTT
    • You will see a login page that will allow IFTTT to connect with your Ooma account. Click “Authorize:”
      authorize IFTTT
    • When your authorization is accepted, you will be redirected to the Ooma Channel on IFTTT.
  4. After you’ve connected your Ooma Channel and you’re brought back to the Recipe page, click the “Add” button:
    iOS recipe confirm Add IFTTT

You’re all set! For your iOS Recipes to work, make sure you install the IF by IFTTT app on your devices from the Apple App Store.

Can Ooma connect with my Apple watch?

Yes. Ooma can connect with all of your iOS devices using IFTTT.

What can I do once I connect Ooma with my iOS devices?

Here are a few of our recommended Ooma and iOS Recipes to help you get started:

IFTTT Recipe: Get a notification on my iPhone/Apple Watch when I receive a voicemail connects ooma to if-notifications

IFTTT Recipe: Get a notification on my iPhone/Apple Watch when I receive any call connects ooma to if-notifications

IFTTT Recipe: Get a notification on my iPhone/Apple Watch when I receive a call from someone I know connects ooma to if-notifications

IFTTT Recipe: Get a notification on my iPhone/Apple Watch when I receive a call from someone I don't know connects ooma to if-notifications

You can find other Recipes that are compatible with Ooma by browsing through the iOS page in My Ooma, by visiting our IFTTT channel, or by searching for Ooma from the main IFTTT page.

How do I create my own Recipe to connect my Ooma Telo with iOS?

Your imagination is the limit to the types of Recipes that can be created with IFTTT to enhance your Ooma setup. If you would like to create your own Recipes, you can follow the instructions in this FAQ.

To disconnect your iOS account from IFTTT, follow these instructions:

  1. Navigate to IFTTT and log into your IFTTT account.
  2. Click on “Channels.”
  3. Click on the iOS Channel that you would like to disconnect.
  4. Click “Disconnect.”

Note that after disconnecting an iOS Channel, all of the Recipes using that Channel will be deleted and will stop functioning. You will not be able to use iOS Notifications in your Recipes until you reconnect your account.